CHURCHOFTAM

about the renovation of our new north Portland Church into our future home!

Anyone have a roofing torch I can borrow?

with 2 comments

Just heard about a new resource at my disposal; THE NORTH PORTLAND TOOL LIBRARY

perhaps I can get a roofing torch here, and have a go blasting at the ceramic tiles covering 1/3 of the space.  If I can loosten and remove them, I’d have more natural concrete surface area, and not have to install some other type of flooring overlay in that area….  This is the next step in my ongoing floor-challenge.

Written by lilylivered

August 23, 2009 at 7:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Tam, regarding your graffiti problem, I have two thoughts, 1) there is a product on the market that you spray on a coat of it on top of a previously painted or otherwise finished wall. it contains a wax product and so when it gets tagged all you have to do is power wash it off then re coat the surface with more waxy stuff. 2) get all the nasty little taggers and all their apprentice friends to come over and paint a mural, you could be their creative consultant and maybe get something of your liking. No seriously, the mural painted walls aroung here are left totally alone by the taggers. Also it never hurts to hire a few of the little ingrates to do some simple labor work for you so they like you. You could start with the leaders of the NORTES THEN MOVE ON TO THE HELLS ANGELS ETC. gb

    gary

    August 25, 2009 at 1:12 am

    • YAY! good suggestion with the wax.. I will look for that. I thought about a mural, but couldnt think of how to have adequate control over a theme/picture/design I liked, and one that I wouldnt get sick of too soon… As for the little “ingrates” (LOL!) I actually LOVE graffitti.. I have books of it.. take pictures of it whenever I see beautiful work in big cities or abroad… but the TAGGERS are just awful. it’s just a stupid 5-second spray painted scrawl… not artful at all. If I could find a REAL graffiti artist talent to hire, I might consider it… (of course, I am trying to work within what Eli and Rachael would approve as well.. since it’s eventually going to be partly their building as well.)

      lilylivered

      August 25, 2009 at 1:36 am


Leave a Reply

